What is this, Footloose??

I was worried about finding a topic for the blog today, but it kinda fell into my lap. I read last night about how my high school’s men’s soccer team’s (that’s a lot of possessives, wow) season was coming to a halt in the middle of a playoff run. Why? Because of dancing.

The Bernie, more specifically.

The team doing The Bernie. (image from Perry Hall Patch)

Really? The team did the dance after winning the regional quarterfinal game, and happened to be on the opposing team’s side of the field when the game ended. Parents and fans of the losing team complained that the dance was lewd, sexually suggestive, and unsportsmanlike. (I will note that the opposing team is a long-time rival of PH’s.)

Apparently we are not allowed to celebrate victories anymore.

The principal decided to cancel the rest of the season and there was an uproar. Students protested outside the school on Thursday morning, local radio shows were up in arms about it and another protest was planned for today at 1 p.m., with local media personalities vowing to show up and do the Bernie in support of the players.

(I don’t know if this link will work, but it’s hilarious… one of the local radio stations’ morning show personalities doing the Bernie this morning)

Twitter and Facebook have been all a-flutter with “Let the Gators dance!” and “Bring back PHHS men’s soccer!” messages.

When I drove back from the gym this morning, there were news trucks all over the high school, and it was soon announced that the decision by the principal had been reversed and the game will be played tomorrow afternoon, although originally scheduled for tonight.

While this was all going on, I kept thinking something that my former roommate Kristin said so eloquently via Twitter:

"What is this, Footloose?!"*

I just want to know if the boys will dance again if they win this game.

Dance on, Gators.

And to bring it back old school for all my PH friends… “PERRY HALL, HOT LIKE FIRE……..”

*true story about the racial slur in the yearbook, maybe I’ll write about that some other time. But really, let’s get some perspective on this issue.
4 thoughts on “What is this, Footloose??

  1. My favorite part was when the principal said that dancing is not an appropriate way to celebrate a victory. The cheerleaders should watch their backs, apparently they’re next! Thankfully, sanity has been at least somewhat restored…

    • That was actually my first reaction too. If CHEERLEADING isn’t sexually suggestive, celebratory dancing, I don’t know what is.

      Also, if sexually suggestive dancing is not ok, then I’m pretty sure all the school dances need to be canceled too.

      It really is Footloose.

Leave a Reply

