The Single Girl’s Checklist: Some Additions & Updates

So I’ve been massively slacking on blogging of late, and I apologize. I do, however, have some updates in the works and some things going on to fill you all in on.

First though, I want to address my “Single Girl’s Checklist.

I am still very much single, so don’t worry about that one. That is not the reason I haven’t been blogging, believe me. In fact, there are several items on this list that I need to cross off and post about soon. (Specifically #s 35 and 36.)

But I’ve also added a few recently that I think are good experiences for the single girl, so I wanted to update you on those!

Updates to my Single Girl’s Checklist:

#38: Give online dating a shot.

I have been resisting this one for years. Literally. I think I was a sophomore in college the first time my sister suggested it to me, half joking. But I don’t really know how else to meet men, and good ol’ luck isn’t really doing much for me, so I’m adding this to my list of things to do before “settling down.” It took a lot of convincing, but I have indeed begun to at least dip my toe into the frigid and frightening waters of online dating. How will it turn out? I have no idea, but I’ve got nothing to lose. If nothing else, it should make for some amusing blog posts for you all to read!

#40: Go to a speed dating event.

Back in May (I think?), Groupon had a deal for speed dating in D.C. I was joking about buying it with some friends, using the same rationale I have for online dating. What I didn’t tell anyone for a few days was that I actually did buy it. Normally $30, Groupon price of $15 and I had $10 in Groupon bucks, so what do I care if I’m out $5 on this experience?! The more I talked about it, the more interested some of my other single friends became in the concept, and we’re in the process of picking an event to go to next month. Stay tuned, because I am positive that one is going to provide some amazing material for the blog. We’ll all be stepping out of our comfort zones here, so maybe I’ll have the other ladies guest blog on it with their perspectives as well.

#41: Be an awesome bridesmaid.

Bridesmaids wearing our poker faces while Claire tried on THE dress. (It didn't work - she'd already seen us cry the first time she tried it on.)

You may recall that one of my college roommates recently asked me to be a bridesmaid in her wedding next June. I, along with fellow bridesmaid / roommate Kirsten, performed my first duty as a bridesmaid this past weekend by going wedding gown shopping with her, and it was a great experience. It’s going to be quite a process, but I definitely want to learn how to be an awesome bridesmaid with my first shot at it. (I was my sister’s maid of honor, but it didn’t require much work at all.) There will probably be numerous bridesmaid posts in the next year, so look forward to those.

Any other suggestions?

So those are my most recent additions to the list. Do you have any other suggestions for me?? Check out what’s on the list now and let me know in the comments! I’m interested in your take on the single life. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Single Girl’s Checklist: Some Additions & Updates

Leave a Reply

