Letting Inspiration Find You

I’ve been uninspired the past week or so. Unmotivated really. Finding no real meaning or purpose in my writing, just kind of sputtering along.

My work with the company I’ve been contracting for slowed down at the end of the week before last and I hadn’t heard anything back. My work for my travel writing course was completely suffering: no where near my best effort or my most passionate, but I just couldn’t get into it. And the feedback reflected it. And, as you know, I’ve been sucking at keeping up with the blog.

It’s just hard to write when you’re not feeling inspired by anything. What am I supposed to say? “Woke up. Went to the gym. Ate. Watched ‘Sex and the City.’ Job searched.” Because that’s pretty much my days when I don’t have writing assignments.

The only thing I was putting effort into and feeling good about and enjoying was my writing for the Go! Girl Guides. (My second post went up today!) And I am loving the community this website has and the rush I get from working with these girls. If only I could find the passion and energy for everything else that I’m getting from that.

So I decided Tuesday night during my class’s chat session that I was really, really going to put a lot of effort into the next assignment. I started brainstorming on Wednesday. But everything I came up with was lackluster or had already been covered recently or just wouldn’t pan out. I hit a wall again.

My solution to that was to at least be productive in some other way – with a GGG post. I drafted two of those in less than an hour. Can you tell where my motivation really is right now?

Then as I got on Facebook, my news feed was full of people talking about the new jobs they just got. Meanwhile, I have heard nothing about the jobs I’ve applied for. I was sliding…

Then at 4 p.m., I had my weekly chat with my liaison at the company in Arizona. We talked about the work I had completed for them already, and then moved on to what I really wanted: NEW ASSIGNMENTS. And actually, a new client as well. A client that I think I’m really, really going to enjoy working with.

After she told me about it and gave me some background material to read, there it was. BOOM. Inspiration. Finally.

Without giving too much away, one of the people I am going to be interviewing for this new client is wheelchair-bound thanks to a spinal cord injury when she was 16. At the age of 31, she has done so much in her life and overcome every obstacle with such fierce determination. As I read the bio she sent me over and over again, I got goosebumps every time. If she can overcome that and go after her dreams and be ridiculously involved in a million different things, all for the good of others… why can’t I?

I can. And I will. And I’m going to figure it out, eventually. In the meantime, I’m going to keep a little bit of perspective thanks to my newfound friend and try to stay motivated and inspired every day.

Sometimes all we need is a little divine intervention, a little inspiration and a whole lot of perspective. If you go searching for the inspiration, sometimes you can’t find it. But when you really need it, it seems that you just need to let inspiration find you.

And then we realize… We can do whatever we set our minds to. We just need to figure out our ways to do it.

2 thoughts on “Letting Inspiration Find You

  1. Just goes to show the importance of “down time”- emotionally as well as physically. If you are quiet for a while, you can hear what the universe has to say to you.

  2. loving this paragraph:

    “Sometimes all we need is a little divine intervention, a little inspiration and a whole lot of perspective. If you go searching for the inspiration, sometimes you can’t find it. But when you really need it, it seems that you just need to let inspiration find you.”

    🙂

Leave a Reply

