For lack of a better post…

I was really hoping to have a spectacular post for you all today to continue on my streak of posting regularly. But I got slightly derailed this weekend by the oh-so-urgent need to finish reading my latest book.

So, for lack of a better post, I am urging you all to go buy/download/check out “The Poisonwood Bible” by Barbara Kingsolver. I started reading it last Tuesday and knew I was in trouble when I got 20 pages in and already didn’t want to put it down. I exercised a lot of restraint by not allowing myself to read during the day (gotta work on those job apps and freelance gigs!). So between Tuesday and Wednesday night, I had reached about 150 pages in or so. Thursday was St. Paddy’s Day, and believe me, I was in no shape to read that night. I read another 100 or so pages between Friday and Saturday nights. But on Sunday, I started around page 250 and couldn’t stop until I reached page 546 and knew how it all ended.

It’s a story about a Southern Baptist family who goes to the Congo in the 1960s for a mission. The story is told through the eyes of the four daughters in the family, and it deals with everything from poverty and religion to political uprising and interracial relationships (and everything in between).

The book had me laughing, crying, angry, joyful…I experienced it all. I highly recommend it if you’re looking for a book to take you on a journey through a revolutionary time and to give you a bit of a new perspective on life. Hey, I rated it a 5 out of 5 on my Goodreads, and I don’t assign that honor lightly.

Hopefully I’ll be back for you tomorrow with a more substantial post. Hope everyone had a lovely weekend!!

2 thoughts on “For lack of a better post…

Leave a Reply

