The Songbirds Keep Singing

The first time I remember hearing the song “Songbird” was when I saw the movie “Love Actually” for the first time. But no doubt, I had heard it before, just by Fleetwood Mac instead of Eva Cassidy. I grew up listening to my parents’ music, and Fleetwood was one of their favorites. (Fun fact: I was at least partially named after Lindsey Buckingham of Fleetwood Mac. But they went with the superior spelling of it.) But the reason I found out I had for sure heard the song before was when my mom told me that it was my parents’ wedding song. (I gotta say, ever since finding that out, the almost-sex scene between Sarah and Karl in “Love Actually” has always been just a little bit more awkward knowing that’s my parents’ song.)

I know, I know. Why do we care, Lindsay? Get to the point already. Getting there. But you still may not care. But it’s my blog and I do what I want, so get over it. 😉

Today, March 18, 2011, marks 32 years since my parents danced to that song on their wedding day. And I am so glad they did. But not just because without that happening, I wouldn’t be in existence. (I mean, I’m sure that’s why you’re all glad they tied the knot.)

Mom and Dad in Boston last year, sharing their love of travel (and baseball!)

Because my parents have taught me for the past [almost!] 24 years of my life what a good marriage and a good family is all about. They taught me that it’s not always perfect. It’s not always easy. It’s not always fun. But it is rewarding and worth the hard work.

My parents are definitely not perfect. Throughout my life, they fought. They got annoyed with each other. They didn’t agree on every decision. But they always got through it. They worked out their problems. They made up. They supported each other. They laughed and joked. They moved on. They have always been partners, there for each other through good and bad.

And most importantly to me, they were (and still are) amazing parents. They tag-teamed it when they couldn’t both be there for something. They took interest in our lives and our responses of “fine” were hardly ever acceptable at the dinner table when asked how our days were. They disciplined us and laid down the law, but they still joked around and played with us.

They weren’t just our parents, they were our friends. To this day, they are my best friends. I can (and do) talk to them about pretty much everything. They take an interest in my life. They care about me and support me (and my sister), the way they care about and support each other.

They have taught me what true love is. It is strong and resilient. It is compromise and partnership. It is having a sense of humor and taking things in stride. It is working hard for the things and the people you love. It is knowing that no matter how hard it may seem at times, it is worth the fight. It is taking time for yourselves, separately and together, to do the things you enjoy.

After all these years, I think my parents’ relationship is stronger than ever now. They’ve survived periods of too many business trips and too many hours working at the stadium, they’ve survived times of financial hardship, they’ve survived illnesses and deaths in the family, they’ve survived moving, they’ve survived two college tuitions (thank you!) and most impressively, they survived raising my sister and me. (And I think we turned out pretty well.) And now, after persevering through all of that and then some, they are getting to enjoy life for themselves. They’re able to take trips to Boston, Jamaica and Cancun and not want to kill each other. They’re still able to laugh and joke and enjoy each other’s company.

Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad. Thank you for the example you have set for me and for Kristin. I can only hope that one day I will find a man to share your kind of love with.

“For you, there’ll be no more crying,
For you, the sun will be shining,
And I feel that when I’m with you,
It’s alright, I know it’s right

To you, I’ll give the world
to you, I’ll never be cold
‘Cause I feel that when I’m with you,
It’s alright, I know it’s right.

And the songbirds are singing,
Like they know the score,
And I love you, I love you, I love you,
Like never before.

And I wish you all the love in the world,
But most of all, I wish it from myself.

And the songbirds keep singing,
Like they know the score,
And I love you, I love you, I love you,
Like never before, like never before.”

-Songbird by Fleetwood Mac

4 thoughts on “The Songbirds Keep Singing

  1. Pingback: The Single Girl’s Checklist #31 | What's shakin' in the real world

  2. Pingback: Thoughts while watching Love Actually | What's shakin' in the real world

Leave a Reply

