The Single Girl’s Checklist #14

Apparently I’m making quite a bit of progress on this list without even trying. For example, number 14 is one I’m kind of ashamed to be able to cross off, but hey, it’s what it is. (Not sure what this is all about? Go to The Single Girl’s Checklist for a run-down of the list and the items I’ve accomplished!)

#14 – Revel in being able to watch all the reality television you want.

Well. I think it’s definitely safe to cross this one off. (Although I don’t think it means it’s going to stop occurring.)

I’ve gone through stages with reality TV. Two seasons ago, Kristin and I watched The Biggest Loser religiously. We would go to the gym on Tuesdays, come home, cook dinner and watch Jillian and Bob kick the contestants’ asses. We loved the contestants – Sam and Koli and O’Neal and Sunshine, in particular, were favorites of ours. We didn’t watch the season after that, nor are we watching the current one. But hey, for a while, it worked.

The only season of BL I've watched all the way through.

Occasionally on rainy days or just Lazy Sundays, we’ve been known to lounge on the couch watching marathons of Keeping Up With The Kardashians, The Rachel Zoe Project, or Giuliana and Bill.

Ohhh G&B.

With my unemployed/freelance/job-searching status, I’ve been alternating the time that I spend having music and television on as background noise. You would think with 5000+ songs on my iTunes, I couldn’t possibly get bored with my music. But sometimes you just need a little bit of mindless entertainment to occupy your mind as you’re working on your résumé or on a freelance gig that is slowly driving you batty.

OOC.

So I have been known to get sucked into the lives of Kourtney, Kim, Scott, Shengo, and even Kanye with a little bit of Kourtney and Kim Take New York. Ohhhh, Kardashians, why can’t I stop watching you?!

Then there are the days I can’t stop watching Travel Channel. Samantha Brown, I want your job. And Man v. Food? How can you not love watching Adam eat six pounds of hamburgers? Or the world’s hottest wings? Or a six-pound milkshake from Annapolis staple Chick & Ruth’s? Classic television.

And then there are the Friday nights when I get caught watching “Say Yes to the Dress: Big Bliss” when Kristin and Jake get back from dinner. (Maybe I shouldn’t have admitted that my life is that single that I spend Friday nights that way.)

If you add in the game shows (I love you, Guy Fieri and Minute To Win It) and Food Network (Giada, you’re my hero) shows, it’s really probably unhealthy.

I’m not sure what watching all this reality TV is supposed to do for me, other than make me realize that I need to not watch it. I guess that being single is about indulging in these guilty pleasures (some guiltier than others, and some more pleasing than others). So I’ll keep indulging, although maybe a little bit less. I’ve already cut it down significantly, but sometimes you just need a little absurdity from the Kardashians in your life.

2 thoughts on “The Single Girl’s Checklist #14

  1. I don’t even know most of those people and shows that you’ve mentioned. LOL And WTH is the lizard lick towing thing because I’ve heard people mention it.

    The food shows are my thing though 🙂

Leave a Reply

