Those “You Can’t Pass That Up!” Opportunities

I knew this week was going to be really pivotal for me. My first week of “funemployment,” my first week of freelancing, my first week of full-time job searching. It could have been either really inspirational or really disheartening. Luckily, it’s turned out to be a pretty good week.

The freelance project I started last week was completed ahead of schedule, payment has been released to me, and the client has proposed an on-going agreement with me for some more editing and writing with him.

The job searching has been good too. I had my friend Mary “grade” my résumé for me, because she’s known as a bit of a résumé guru in her circle. (She approved! Whew! I loved my latest iteration of it, so I was hoping it would get the same reaction from someone else!) I’ve applied for several jobs. Bookmarked a bunch of others that I need to work on.

And then yesterday afternoon, one of the dream jobs was posted. An editorial assistant position with a major travel magazine in NYC. And this morning? The EVEN BIGGER dream job. An editorial assistant position with another major travel magazine, the one I’ve dreamed of working for since at least 2008, in Washington, D.C.

It showed up on one of my daily job site checks, and I gasped. My roommate asked what was wrong. I said, “Nothing! The job! It’s here! I need it!” Or something along those lines. But when I went to the company’s website, it wasn’t there yet. WHAT?! COME ON! DON’T TEASE ME! I was freaking out.

So I forgot about it for a while. Kristin and I went to Georgetown to try on her bridesmaid dress options for her friend’s wedding, and then to meet her brother and his girlfriend for lunch. We got back and the first thing I did was check on the website again. IT WAS POSTED! YES! VICTORY!

I immediately copied and pasted my résumé into the form (although it’s not as impressive in plain-text, booooo) and poured my heart and soul into the cover letter. And held my breath and had Kristin cheering me on, playing some anthems for me on her computer as I hit submit.

When the dream jobs come up on the job board, you can’t pass ’em up. You can’t delay. You’ve just gotta do it. And hopefully my urgency to submit this application will help show my true passion for this opportunity. But if not, no harm done, right? It’s always worth a shot when the right chance comes up.

It was Wayne Gretzky who said, “You miss 100% of the chances you never take.” (Look, roomie! A hockey reference!) So I took the chance, we’ll see if it works out!! Wish me luck! Meanwhile, I’ll be checking the status of the application every day until the posting disappears…

2 thoughts on “Those “You Can’t Pass That Up!” Opportunities

  1. yayayayayyayayayay that is SO exciting! I’m crossing my fingers and toes for you!! also, congrats on a very productive week!! and a pay check!! march is turning out to be pretty stellar so far 🙂

    ps – what website do you check for job postings? im curious like a cat lol

Leave a Reply

