Let the Rain Come Down

OK, so I had a post all scheduled for today about how I had a bad case of the winter blues and how I was seriously riding the struggle bus this week and how you should all probably hate me because I’m going to Jamaica next week…but I’m delaying that, or doing away with it altogether.

Because after I wrote said post and was feeling all blah and lethargic, I decided to kick myself into gear. I changed and did some yoga, then did some “Just Dance” on the Wii. And then, with my spirits high thanks to dancing my butt off to Katy Perry and NKOTB, I checked my e-mail.

What was waiting for me in my inbox was simply beautiful. My dear friend, Mary, was apparently listening to Sara Bareilles, and a particular song made her think of me. Our mutual love of Sara is one of the first things that bonded us, so it’s pretty appropriate.

But the words Mary used to express how and why this song made her think of me brought me to tears. I don’t want to share what she wrote here, because it’s very close to my heart and meant for me and only me. But I do want to talk about how much this woman has come to mean to me over a very short time.

Our second meeting, in Dallas for her 25th birthday

We met for the first time in October 2009, after our blogs had brought us together, and my life has never been the same. She gets me more than most people in my life get me. She inspires me and encourages me. We allow each other to vent, to bitch, to cry, to whine. We have absolutely absurd conversations about badgers and beavers and we say TWSS way too much and we share a lot of secrets. We allow each other to be ridiculous and irrational, to make awful jokes and laugh, to dream and hope.

And lately, the words she’s shared with me and the encouragement she has given me have been exactly what I’ve needed. She somehow knows when I need her, without me even telling her. And I could not be more grateful for that.

Mary, I can only say that I love you too, darlin! Thank you for your friendship, always. (And PS – in your honor, I danced around my bedroom lip-synching this, complete with hairbrush-microphone action, in my boxers and tee shirt before getting in bed. You’re welcome for that image.)

And the song that Mary said reminded her of me? Just so happens to be one that I’ve been moved by a lot lately. Sara Bareilles’ “Let the Rain.”

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Lyrics:

I wish I were pretty
I wish I were brave
If I owned this city
Then I’d make it behave
And if I were fearless
Then I’d speak my truth
And the world would hear this
That’s what I wish I’d do,
Yeahhhh
If my hands could hold them you’d see
I’d take all these secrets in me
And I’d move and mold them to be
Something I’d set free
I want to darken in the skies
Open the floodgates up
I want to change my mind
I want to be enough
I want the water in my eyes
I want to cry until the end of time
I want to let the rain come down
Make a brand new ground
Let the rain come down
Let the rain come down
Make a brand new ground
Let the rain come down tonight
I hold on to worry so tight
It’s safe in here right next to my heart
Who now shouts at the top of her voice
Let me go, let me out, this is not my choice
And I always felt it before
That the world was filled with much more
Than the drowning soul I’ve learned to be
I just need the rain to remind me
I want to darken in the skies
Open the floodgates up
I want to change my mind
I want to be enough
I want the water in my eyes
I want to cry until the end of time
I want to let the rain come down
Make a brand new ground
Let the rain come down
Let the rain come down
Make a brand new ground
Let the rain come down
2 thoughts on “Let the Rain Come Down

    • This makes me happy and sad at the same time. I am happy that, like me, you have a friend who really “gets you”. I am sad that you have a heart that’s heavy. With that being said, I know that after the rain is often a rainbow- so here’s to the rainbow coming soon…
      And, no rain come down in Jamaica, mon!
      Love to you, and to Mary…

Leave a Reply

