Cheers to 2010 (Part one!)

As 2010 draws to a close, of course it’s time for me to do a little recap of the year’s highlights before another one begins. It was a pretty epic year for me, it’s safe to say. So here’s a look at part one of 2010 – the first three months:

January 2010 – My first trip to Texas!
In January, I hopped on a plane to visit my dear friend Mary. It’s kind of ridiculous to me that this trip in January for her birthday was only the second time we’d ever met, but it was something I counted down to from the moment the trip was booked. The trip was a big deal for me for many reasons:

  • My first trip booked with entirely my own money
  • My first time to Texas
  • My first time spending more than 24 hours with my “new” friend Mary
  • My first time seeing several friends from Australia who lived in Dallas in almost two years
  • My first time meeting Mary’s boyfriend, who I’d been hearing about for months and months
  • My first time playing flip cup, skee ball and Jenga in a bar šŸ˜‰

 

Me and Mary in between rousing games of flip cup at the bar.

It was a highly enjoyable trip and I am looking forward to getting to go to Dallas sometime again to see my now “old” friend and the new friends I made there while I was with her.

February 2010 – Snowpocalypse, D.C., a Spiritual Dining Experience and Playing Nurse
February was an interesting month for me. It started with the blizzard, which I survived, like many people, with the help of friends, booze and movies. Oh, and coloring books, trips to the dollar store, a local pub and the always-open Chinese takeout place. And the painting of a chalkboard wall in our kitchen. Genius.

That was followed by a weekend trip to D.C. to visit my friend Kirsten to see Greg Laswell in concert. There was quite a long walk in high heels through the treacherous streets of D.C. in order to get to a bar to meet up with my Australia buddy, Will, for the first time in almost two years.

 

Friends making friends šŸ™‚

The following week was Restaurant Week in Annapolis, which is when I discovered my new favorite restaurant, Level. Seriously a phenomenal dining experience. Small plates, local and absolutely delish foods, excellent cocktails, slow eating, and all accompanied by great friends and lots of laughter. If you ever want to come to Annapolis and have a semi-fancy meal, let me know and I’ll take you there!

The month was rounded out by playing nurse to my mom after she had surgery on her neck. It was a stressful week, but I was glad I could help her and my dad out.

March 2010 – The Big 2-3!
OK, so it’s safe to say that March’s highlight was the celebration of my 23rd birthday. Not normally a big year to celebrate, but Krissy’s 25th birthday was around the same time, so we joined forces. With the help of Mama Eney, we got a limo for the night and spent that Saturday with 15-20 of our closest friends, including several of my friends from out of town. I really don’t have the proper words to explain this night, so pictures will have to do. It was the best birthday I’ve ever had – even better than my 21st while I was in Australia. I’ve never felt so loved before šŸ™‚

With my out of town friends - Dustin, Will and Kim - for my birthday!

Cupcake cakes from Kristin for our birthdays!

Coming up in the next installment: April, May and June…
A test for my family, a graduation, a bachelorette party, a trip to NYC and a wedding…

4 thoughts on “Cheers to 2010 (Part one!)

  1. Pingback: Cheers to 2010 (Part two!) | What's shakin' in the real world

  2. Pingback: Cheers to 2010 (Part three!) | What's shakin' in the real world

  3. Pingback: Quarterlife Lessons | What's shakin' in the real world

Leave a Reply

