Surprise!

I love surprises. I really, really do. Especially when I’m the one doing the surprising. It gives me a chance to be a little mischievous, a personality trait I do not typically possess. It allows me to send secretive text messages to my co-conspirators and have some excitement in my life.

Today is my roommate’s 23rd birthday. As I type this, she is out for a birthday dinner. When dinner is finished, I will be receiving a text message informing me that they are on their way back to my apartment. Where I will be waiting with the apartment decorated and a cake freshly baked and frosted.

I purposely did not decorate the apartment this morning before she got up because I wanted her to think that the birthday celebration was “over” in a way after her dinner. But nope. She’s coming home to cake, decorations and presents. And a whole lotta love.

I hope that she’s surprised, small and simple as it is. It’s not quite the surprise party we wanted to throw her last year (which didn’t happen), but I think it’ll do.

Happy Birthday, Kristin! I love ya, rooms!

2 thoughts on “Surprise!

Leave a Reply

