Here Goes Nothin’…

Today, I am going to attempt to make an apple pie. For the first time ever. For Thanksgiving tomorrow. For my mom’s entire family. No pressure, right?

Every year for Thanksgiving, my grandmother makes her FAMOUS pumpkin pie. I have tried to every single year for the past six or so, just to make her happy and to say I’m trying. But I just don’t like it. I think it’s the texture. But anyway, apple pie is where it’s at for me.

So last week when I was talking about Thanksgiving (my FAVORITE holiday ever), my mom said to me, “You know, if you want to bake something, you could do an apple pie.” Ummm…OK! I perused recipes and I’ve found several. The one I’ve decided to attempt is found here.

Dulce de leche apple pie. YUM. So once I finish my short day of working from home (those pesky daily/weekly tasks need to be completed), I’m going to get started. I’m hoping it turns out OK. I’m pretty nervous. But maybe I’ll just go buy a frozen Sara Lee apple pie as back-up. After all, nobody doesn’t like Sara Lee.

2 thoughts on “Here Goes Nothin’…

  1. Mom and Claire like to watch The Middle on ABC, and tonight was the Thanksgiving episode. On it, the daughter in the show was determined to make an apple pie, but ended up cutting her finger and chin in the process. Then, when she finally got it figured out and was taking it out of the oven, she dropped the hot pie directly on the top of her foot, ruining the pie and burning her foot. Her mother then took a frozen apple pie out of the freezer and told her that if you bake it at home, it’s homemade. I’m thinking you’re going to have better results, but I laughed out loud when I read this post after watching that show tonight!

    [PS — I can’t wait to see you on SATURDAY!]

    • Hahaha, no cutting of fingers or chins, and no dropping of the pie. It looks and smells delicious and I am just hoping it tastes as good when we cut into it today! SEE YOU IN A COUPLE DAYS! 🙂

Leave a Reply

