The Single Girl’s Checklist #12: Don’t settle

Sometimes, good news comes when you least expect it. But then you realize, maybe you should have expected it, because you kind of made it happen.

That’s one of the thoughts I had today when I benefited from doing the 12th item on my Single Girl’s Checklist:

#12 – Learn to stand up for yourself.

Or, as I’m learning to think of it: Don’t settle.

I’ve been at this job since the end of August, and while I was loving parts of it, others were not quite what I was looking to do. I was OK with that – not everything is going to be the way I want it. But I was just wishing I could do more of the tasks I enjoy, that I have a background in, and that I want to do in the future.

A few weeks ago, I was offered the opportunity to take a full-time position in the company. Doing the side of the business I didn’t enjoy – the programs side versus the editorial side that I love. When I was asked whether it interested me, I answered honestly: no. It was not the side of the business I wanted to do, I wasn’t enjoying those tasks, and that’s not the direction I wanted to go in my career. I turned it down.

Sure, it could have been easier to just say yes, suck it up, and in the words of Tim Gunn, make it work. But I have settled before, and I didn’t want to do it again. So I said no, and told my supervisor what my career goals were and what I was hoping to see happen.

Today, that came to fruition. It had been a while since there’d been any mention of it all, so I was starting to lose hope. But this afternoon, our editor asked me to come into her office, and there she had an offer letter to bring me on in a full-time capacity as an editorial assistant.

Now, instead of working four days a week, I will be working five. I will be getting a slight pay raise. I will be eligible for “real” full-time status and benefits pending a performance review after 60 days. But that’s not the best part.

The best part is that I will be officially in the editorial department, reporting to the editor. I will be taking on more responsibility and doing the things that I love doing, like when I spent the entire day before Thanksgiving copy editing.

I guess I’ve learned that when you stand up for yourself, don’t settle for less than you deserve, and ask for what you want… well, sometimes you’ll actually get it. I suppose it also doesn’t hurt when you take on more tasks than you probably should to prove your worth.

8 thoughts on “The Single Girl’s Checklist #12: Don’t settle

Leave a Reply

